Sony a6000 Review

Sony a6000 review on Shotkit
386 Shares

Seeing a Sony a6000 review on a site like Shotkit may come as a surprise to some of you, especially here in 2020.

On its 5th anniversary, why have I decided to write a review of a mirrorless camera which has been superseded twice since its release?

Thanks to my work with Shotkit, I have access to pretty much any camera – why on earth did I choose to spend a month shooting with an entry-level camera and three outdated Sony lenses?!

shk-fs-table__imageRecommended BundleGet the best value Sony a6000 bundle at AmazonGet Discount

Hopefully this in-depth review of the world’s best-selling mirrorless camera will make things a little clearer.

It’ll also be a good reminder that getting a great camera needn’t mean spending lots of money on the very latest model.

So, enough of the preamble. Get a cup of tea as this is a long one ;-) Let’s jump right in!

Sony a6000 Review | Intro

Sony alpha a6000 with 3 lenses

As I mentioned before, it may seem a little odd to be writing a review of the Sony a6000 in 2020, several years after its release.

5 years in technology is a long time, and there are many photographers who wouldn’t even consider a camera that’s 1 year old, let alone 5.

The reason why I put together this a6000 review was to see whether the most popular mirrorless camera is still relevant today.

Despite all the advancements in technology since its release, is it still to wise to invest in the Sony a6000?

You can compare the specs with newer models all you want, but the only real way I was going to give you an honest recommendation was to shoot solidly with this camera for a month… so that’s what I did!

I’ve included sections below that compare the a6000 with its two successors, but what was more important to me was the performance of this camera on its own, i.e. not compared to newer cameras.

Specs

  • 24.3 megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor
  • Bionz X image processor
  • Hybrid AF system with 25 contrast-detect and 179 phase-detect points
  • Built-in flash + Multi-Interface Shoe
  • ISO 100-25600
  • 11 fps continuous shooting with subject-tracking
  • 3-inch tilting LCD with 921,600 dots
  • OLED electronic viewfinder with 1.44M dots
  • Diffraction correction, area-specific noise reduction, and detail reproduction technology
  • Full HD video recording at 1080/60p and 24p; clean HDMI output
  • Wi-Fi with NFC capability and PlayMemories App
  • Sony E-Mount Lens compatibility
  • 4.72W x 2.63H x 1.78D in.
  • 10.05 oz (Body Only) / 12.13 oz (With battery and media)

If you’re like to read more specifics about the camera, click here for the Sony a6000 manual.

Build & Handling

Sony a6000 top view electronic viewfinder shutter speed noise reduction and great battery life

The worry with most entry-level mirrorless cameras at this price point is that build quality suffers, but thankfully this is not the case with this one.

The metal body feels solid, and offers an ideal weight for a camera of this size. I particularly like the rubber grip, which protrudes just enough to allow my big hand to get a firm, comfortable hold, whilst still letting my thumb rest in a natural position to change most settings one-handed.

Good ergonomics are a hugely underestimated feature on compact mirrorless cameras. It’s all well and good having a camera as thin as a deck of cards, but unless you can hold it comfortably and safely whilst still being able to operate it one-handed, you may as well stick to your iphone!

The dials on the a6000 stayed firm and clunky during the one month that I shot with it every day – I initially thought they were a tad too stiff, but after getting used to it, I grew to like their solid feel.

I also liked the way that you couldn’t ‘bump’ your settings by mistake when carrying the camera, since the dials wouldn’t budge unless you twisted them yourself.

The rotating wheel on the back of the a6000 is reminiscent of Canon DSLRs, and provides fast and easy access to a range of options within the camera’s menu.

I set it up to control exposure compensation, so I could leave the camera on Aperture priority with Auto-ISO engaged, and just turn the dial to add or remove light.

shot with electronic viewfinder. Impressive noise reduction and battery life with aps-c cmos sensor

a6000 + 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 | 1/320 at f/6.3 ISO 2500

Something I found a little unusual was the LCD screen, which has a 16:9 ratio, more suited for video playback – when viewing standard 3:2 stills, you’re left with black bars on either side of the frame.

The screen can tilt upward 90 degrees and down by 45, allowing for some creative shooting angles.

The resolution is 921,600 dots, which sounds impressive but isn’t so special here in 2020. It’s adequate for viewing images and taking photos, but don’t expect to be blown away by the resolution.

The EVF quality is similarly ‘just OK’ – adequate for shooting and reviewing images, but there are obviously much better quality electronic viewfinders on mirrorless cameras in 2020.

Did I find the EVF restrictive in any way? No. Would I prefer a more detailed EVF with a wider view? Definitely.

From switching on the a6000 to being ready to shoot, the wait is no longer than any DSLR costing 10x the price.

Startup time on cheaper cameras is usually around one second, and can be a huge annoyance over a day’s shoot – not so with the Sony.

I liked the option to swap the Aperture and Shutter Speed controls in manual mode – something that’s often overlooked in cameras at this price point.

Whilst the Sony a6000 has been priced to appeal to beginners, (and is actually in my opinion one of the best cameras for beginners), it’s clear that Sony intended its use to be relevant to more experienced photographers, and dare I say it… to pros too?!

shot with exposure compensation and noise reduction (not kit lens)

a6000 + 85mm f/1.8 FE | 1/250 at f/1.8 ISO100

The Sony a6000’s buttons are all dedicated to single functions, which makes operation very simple, with little need to start delving into the somewhat convoluted menu.

You can change settings quickly by using what Sony calls the Quick Navi screen, accessible via the DISP button. Here you can choose from all the main shooting options by pressing the Fn button and navigating around the page using the dial.

Spending some time setting up the a6000 reaps dividends later on – I found that after I’d set up the Custom Menu with my ‘fairly often’ used functions, then assigned the 2 dedicated custom buttons to my ‘most used’ functions, I didn’t need to delve into the main menu much at all.

It’s a bit of a shame that Sony decided to cram so many icons around the buttons and dial on the rear of the a6000. I found operation of the camera far simpler than the mess of icons suggested!

There’s a lot to be said for an uncluttered camera interface, much like an uncluttered desk – unfortunately, Sony never seems to get this quite right.

Aesthetics aside, I found the a6000 a pleasure to shoot with. Once muscle memory had kicked in and I was able to find the buttons to change settings without having to glance at the back of the camera, I was able to concentrate fully on my scene.

Sony a6000 compared to Fuji X100F (both have electronic viewfinder and great battery life / noise reduction

Sony a6000 vs Fujifilm X100F | As long as you choose your Sony e mount lenses wisely, the a6000 is one of the smallest mirrorless inter-changeable lens (M.I.L.C.) cameras.

The tiny 16-50mm power zoom (available in the most popular Sony a6000 bundle) is great fun to use and makes the a6000 super portable – see the image above.

The electronic ‘power zoom’ feels just as responsive as twisting a manual zoom ring would be.

However, being a relatively cheap ‘kit-lens’, the image quality out of the 16-50mm doesn’t really do justice to the full capabilities of the sensor.

Check out the lenses I recommend for the a6000 later on in this review for some much better options.

If I had to single it down to one factor that added the most enjoyment of shooting with the a6000, that would have to be its incredible auto focus… so let’s look closer at this now.

Auto focus

Sony a6000 flip out LCD (use instead of electronic viewfinder to save battery life)

When I shot with the Sony a6000 on the first day, I was convinced I wouldn’t like it. My pet peeve with entry-level cameras is not being able to select the AF point ‘directly’, i.e. you can’t press just one button to move the AF point.

This was my biggest dislike of Fuji’s early X100 cameras, until they addressed the issue with more recent models.

Having to first press a button to engage manual focus point selection before being able to move the focus point could have been a deal breaker for me on the a6000… had it not been for this camera’s incredible ability to predict which focus point you want to use, particularly when there’s a face involved.

As soon as a subject enters your scene, the camera uses some kind of voodoo magic to find its face immediately, then lock on to it with incredible precision!

If there’s no face in the scene and you half press the shutter button, the a6000 locks on to the closest object.

If it gets the focus point you had in mind wrong, you just need to release the shutter button, then try again – I found that 9 times out of 10 the camera was able to guess correctly what I was trying to focus on if it got it wrong the first time.

bionz x processor handles high shutter speeds

a6000 + 85mm f/1.8 FE | 1/4000 at f/1.8 ISO 100

The hybrid auto focus system means that the camera is intelligent enough to switch from single shot (AF-S) to continuous auto focus (AF-C) and back again, without your intervention.

In practice, this means that with Automatic AF (AF-A) engaged, I could lock focus on to one of my children when he was standing still, then as soon as he turned and ran, the camera would switch to continuous AF mode to capture him in movement (then return to AF-A).

I wouldn’t normally use an AF-A mode on any of my other cameras, since I like to focus and recompose, and this is usually ineffective with AF-A.

However I found that with the a6000, I relied much more heavily on the camera choosing all my focus points for me automatically.

Face recognition on Sony mirrorless cameras has always been nothing short of mind blowing, and the this camera is no different. Not only does it track faces even faster than a human eye, but you can also set it to memorize up to 8 faces so that the camera tracks them in an order you choose.

I found this a little gimmicky at first, but soon realised that it’s actually a really useful function when trying to capture one person in the middle of a group of people (and you want to ignore the other faces).

Examples of this could be at your child’s nativity play when your pride and joy is surrounded by random kids, or during a wedding when you want to focus on the bride among all the guests.

Check out the video below which illustrates how well this function works, and how you can override the camera’s face detection on the fly so you have complete control of the AF point.

As you can see, if you take the time to set up the face registration feature, it’s a hugely effective way of allowing the camera to do all the hard work ‘picking out’ the correct faces from the crowd.

Sony placed great emphasis on the focusing speed of the a6000 when it was released, calling it the fastest autofocus in the world.

Whilst it’s hard to confirm this 4 years down the track, what I will say is that the AF on the a6000 is very impressive.

I usually shoot weddings with a Nikon D750, a DSLR 4-5x the price of this little a6000, and I have to say that the AF on the Sony is actually faster (in good light at least).

0.06 seconds for the a6000 to lock on to a subject is faster than many other mirrorless cameras, even here in 2020!

Burst mode shooting in continuous high mode is great fun. This pocket powerhouse able to fire off 11 frames per second for around 22 frames in RAW format, and 49 frames in JPEG Fine format.

Unlike the Sony a6300 and a6500, the a6000 doesn’t offer silent shooting, meaning that using burst mode is a bit like shooting with a muffled machine gun!

179 phase-detect AF points are spread across almost 100% of the frame, meaning that the a6000 can track your subject running across the scene, and closer/further away from you without missing a shot.

Watching the focus points track a subject like some kind of futuristic missile lock-on is incredible, and you forget that you’re using technology that should be considered ‘old’ in the 4 years since this camera’s release.

Check out how adventure sports photographer Chris Burkard takes full advantage of the a6000’s auto-focus tracking features in the video below:

Despite the its incredible burst mode performance which can outperform more expensive cameras, the speed at which this camera can write those photos to your memory card is a little lackluster – in a continuous 30 shot burst of RAWs, I found I was waiting around 10 seconds before the Play button would allow me to review any of the images.

Whilst the camera is ‘locked up’, you can’t enter any of the menus or playback mode, but you can still continue shooting (albeit slower), so it’s not all bad.

Using different lenses gave me different results from the a6000‘s continuous AF tracking, but I found that in general, it did an amazing job of keeping a subject in focus throughout the 11 frames per second.

Using ‘Zone’ or ‘Wide area’ modes, I simply half pressed the shutter button to see that the camera had chosen the correct AF point (9 times out of 10, it had!); then fully pressed it down when the subject started moving.

It’s so entertaining to see the camera’s AF points track the subject throughout the frame, with the burst mode shooting off frame after frame in a flurry of semi-silent clicks!

As someone who usually prefers to select AF points manually, I found the automatic focus point selection of this impressive camera eerily intuitive and accurate.

Coupled with the mind-blowing continuous AF performance and class-leading 11 fps burst speed, photography with the a6000 is a hugely refreshing and altogether highly enjoyable experience.

Image Quality

good af system. Shot with exposure compensation. Shown with kit lens. Average shutter speed

This is where things start to get really interesting. As soon as I saw the images appear on the rear LCD screen of my a6000, I must admit I wasn’t expecting much in the way of stellar image quality.

As mentioned before, the LCD screen (and EVF), don’t really offer much in the way of high resolution, so it’s easy to assume the photos you’re taking won’t look good when enlarged on your computer monitor, or transferred to a smart device.

(Incidentally, wifi and NFC transfer via Sony’s smartphone app worked well, and is a simple way to get your photos onto a phone or tablet.)

However, when I finally got around to transferring my images from the a6000 to my computer, I couldn’t believe just how good they looked.

If you’re someone who wants to shoot in JPEG to minimise any time spent editing your photos, I think you’ll be very happy with the images out of this camera.

high resolution. Not kit lens.

a6000 + 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 | 1/320 at f/6.3 ISO 1600

The 24MP Exmor HD CMOS sensor with Bionz X processor ensures JPEGs are sharp, vivid and contrasty, but not overly so.

Sony’s Dynamic Range Optimization feature helps to get a well-balanced image that makes full use of the camera’s impressive ability to handle highlights and shadows.

I spent most of my time shooting in RAW so I could test the full abilities of the files out of the a6000, and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised.

You can check out DP Review’s highly technical analysis of dynamic range performance here if you need some bedtime reading, but take it from me, the Sony’s files offer from an APS-C sensor.

24 Mega Pixels is also a great sweet-spot in resolution, where files aren’t so big as to necessitate huge memory cards, but still offer enough wiggle-room for some high quality crops.

ISO performance was pretty good for a high-megapixel APS-C sensor, with similar results to the Nikon D3400 review I wrote recently.

I found the best image quality was under ISO400, with noise being introduced to the image soon after this, but it was only apparent when zooming in to really inspect it.

As you can see in my image below shot at ISO 3200, you can’t see any noise at all.

high resolution and dynamic range

a6000 + 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 | 1/320 at f/5.6 ISO 3200 | When viewed at normal sizes, ISO 3200 looks great!

The Sony a6000 has a cute pop-up flash which you can use in a pinch when the light becomes really low, but I’d still prefer to crank the ISO up higher for a noisier image over the crappy deer-in-headlights look produced by these small on-camera flashes!

Overall, the Sony a6000 image quality is superb, especially when you consider the bargain price of this camera.

As with all cameras, you’ll need to pair this one with some good glass to really get the best image quality out of the sensor.

Whilst I found the power zoom convenient and fun to use, shooting with a prime lens such as the Sony 85mm f/1.8 FE really brought the image quality up to professional levels. The Sony 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 was also quite impressive, but only really useful during the day time, or in adequate light.

Video

This being a stills photography review, I don’t feel qualified to speak much about the Sony a6000 video performance.

Check out the video review above for a better idea of what this camera is capable of in the right hands:

What I will say is that the a6000 offers complete manual control over exposure settings during video recording, which is sure to please video shooters.

I also liked the ability to shoot videos in manual mode, but still being able to select Auto-ISO. This means you can have creative control over aperture and shutter speed for the look and feel of the video, whilst letting the camera choose the appropriate ISO to maintain the correct brightness.

Much like the auto focus for photos, the AF for video was similarly impressive. I didn’t experiment much with the myriad of AF modes available during video, but I found the tracking fast and accurate, and left me to just concentrate on keeping the subject within the frame.

Price

Finally, we come to the strongest draw card – the Sony a6000 price!

One of the huge benefits of buying a slightly older camera is being able to take advantage of massively reduced prices.

When the camera was released in 2014, it cost around $800, which I still consider to be a great price for a camera offer this much technology and high image quality in such a compact body.

Here in 2020, the price of the Sony a6000 plus a kit lens has dropped to around half this (check latest price here), making it the best value mirrorless camera!

My preference after testing a few lenses would be to buy it ‘body only’(available here), saving an additional 150-ish bucks over buying it with the 16-50mm power zoom.

Whilst I did find the power zoom fun and loved how compact it made the overall camera, there are much better Sony a6000 lenses, and I’d prefer to put the money saving towards one of these.

Final word – I still can’t believe you can get so much camera for so little money – it’s without a doubt the best mirrorless camera under $500, and a camera I’d happily recommend to my friends who want the biggest bang for their buck here in 2020.

(Budget still too tight? check out the best digital camera under $200)

Sony a6000 vs 6300

Sony a6000 vs 6300

It’s only natural for photographers to want the latest camera gear. After all, ‘newer’ normally means ‘better’, but is that really the case with the Sony a6000 vs a6300 mirrorless cameras?

2 years after the release of the a6000, the a6300 hits the scene, touting a ‘newly developed image sensor’, better viewfinder, 4k video recording, more AF points and a more rugged body. You can also use a wider range of the Sony A-mount lenses on the a6300, with tracking and auto-focus working on the newly developed E-mount.

So on paper, all looks pretty good… but remember that the a6300 is around twice the price of the a6000 (see latest price here).

For video, sure 4k is great to be able to crop after the fact, and additional focus points are helpful when tracking a subject all the way across the frame.

However, for stills photography, most people agree that the a6300 isn’t significant enough of an upgrade to warrant the price increase over the a6000.

So, in the a6000 vs a6300 battle, I’d recommend you stick with the a6000 and use the money you save to invest in some great lenses instead.

Sony a6000 vs a6500

Sony a6000 vs 6500

To confuse matters even more, Sony decided to release the a6500 soon after the a6300. The logical comparison might be the two most recent cameras, but in this case I think it’s more appropriate to pit the Sony a6000 vs a6500.

Both cameras still offer that incredible 24MP sensor and 11 fps continuous shooting in a compact mirrorless body. The a6500 has that improved image sensor of its predecessor, so is cleaner at high ISOs, but not remarkably so.

Then there’s the 5-axis image stabilisation in the a6500, which can help shooting handheld with slower shutter speeds, especially when using lenses on the a6500 which don’t feature image stabilisation. This is also good for video shooters.

The improved image processor in the a6500 also means that you can shoot even more images one after the other, and the camera will process them quicker (meaning the camera won’t be ‘locked up’ writing files to the memory card after shooting a series of images in quick succession).

My favourite feature of the a6500 is the touchscreen and touch-to-focus capability. Unfortunately the a6000 doesn’t have a touch screen.

However, is the a6500 worth three times the price of the a6000? I don’t believe so, unless perhaps you’re a video shooter.

For stills photography, I think that the price:performance ratio of the a6000 when compared to the a6300 and a6500 still makes it the clear winner.

At this price point, there simply isn’t a better mirrorless camera than the a6000.

[Related: Sony a7ii vs Sony a6500]

Accessories

For such an immensely popular mirrorless camera, it’s no surprise that there are some great Sony a6000 accessories available in 2020.

Since this most recent bargain price makes it such an accessible camera for beginners, most people are left with enough spare change to pick up some useful accessories. Let’s take a look at the most popular:

Lenses

I wrote a whole article discussing what I considered to be the best lenses for the Sony a6000, so I won’t repeat myself here.

If you don’t have time to read the whole article, here are 4 of my favourite lenses:

You’ll notice that the Sony a6000 wide angle lens I recommend there is actually by a brand called Rokinon.

It’s a great, affordable option if you want to shoot really wide angle, but note that it’s manual focus only.

Recommended Camera Bag

Sony a6000 camera bag

Peak Design Sling 5L is a great size for camera bag for a6000 owners with 2 zooms and a small prime lens.

My recommendations of a camera bag for the a6000 would be something compact and lightweight, with room for a spare battery, some cards and a couple of lenses.

The Peak Design Everyday Sling is my top pick for a Sony a6000 camera bag. If you only have a couple of small lenses, the 5L version is perfect.

It looks great in all 3 colour options (I chose this black one), and is designed with lots of features you never even knew you needed – I love the small organisation options inside the pockets in particular.

[Related: best camera backpacks]

If you prefer a camera messenger bag over a sling, I’d go for either the well-priced LowePro Event Messenger 100, or the Think Tank Mirrorless Mover (5 or 10, depending on the number of lenses you need to carry).

Battery

Not such a sexy accessory for this camera by any means, but I’d advise you to stock up on a few spare batteries so you can keep shooting all day without worry.

I wouldn’t normally recommend third party batteries for cameras, but in this case, there is a great alternative to the official Sony a6000 battery, by the well-known brand RAVPower.

The RAVPower FW50 offers two high quality battiers for the a6000 plus a USB compatible charger, all for under $30!! (Check the latest price here.)

Since the whole unit plus batteries weighs less than a pack of cards, you can keep it in your bag attached to a portable USB charger, meaning you’ll never run out of power whilst on holiday.

This makes it a great travel camera setup for those who won’t have access to a power point for long periods.

Battery Grip

Another option to get more shots out of your camera is a third party Sony a6000 battery grip. My pick of the bunch is this Neewer Battery Grip, which includes a remove control. I have several Neewer products and they’re all decent quality for their bargain prices.

Although it may seem odd to add something to your a6000 which makes the compact form factor much bulkier, a battery grip can make it much more comfortable to hold for long periods, especially if you use longer lenses.

As well as improved battery life and better ergonomics, a battery grip also allows for much easier portrait orientation shooting, thanks to additional buttons and dials which are located in convenient spots when holding the camera vertically.

Isn’t it great to have some many affordable Sony a6000 accessories?! Typically, the more expensive a camera gets, the more expensive become its peripherals, so it’s refreshing to be able to take advantage of bargain prices with the a6000 add-ons.

Screen Protector

They’re cheap and protect your precious camera’s screen – enough said… just get one! Here’s my pick of the bunch.

UPDATE: since writing this review I came across a Sony a6000 bundle which includes the two lenses above, a memory card, mini travel tripod, filters, a bag… basically a whole heap of accessories that you may or may not need!!

However, since it’s the same price as the other lens only bundle, I figured you may as well get it – I wrote a full review on the bundle here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Sony a6000 a good camera?

Yes, despite being over 5 years old, it’s still a great camera. It’s also excellent value for money, and loved by many professional photographers as well as beginners and amateurs too.

Is the Sony a6000 discontinued?

Sony rarely discontinues its cameras, despite launching new bodies almost every year. As such, you can still purchase one from all major camera retailers.

Is the Sony a6000 a professional camera?

It features a 24.3MP APS-C-sized Exmor APS HD CMOS sensor with BIONZ X image processor, as well as an array of pro-grade features. Many professional photographers use it for their work.

Is the Sony a6000 still worth it in 2020?

Yes, definitely! It’s as much a bargain for the money today as it was in 2014 when it was first released.

Sony a6000 Review | Final Words

Due to time constraints, I haven’t had a chance to go through all the thousands of images I shot during the one month for this Sony a6000 review.

When I find time, I’ll upload some more so you can have a better understanding as to what’s capable with this incredible little camera.

Whilst I don’t usually recommend cameras based solely on their price, it’s hard to ignore just how much functionality you’re getting from the a6000 for such a bargain price.

Any small niggles I had whilst shooting with the a6000 were completely justified when I considered that the whole camera cost less than any of my DSLR lenses!

I thought it would also be very apparent to me that I was using a camera released several years ago when writing this review.

However, I honestly thought I was shooting with a very modern camera. Sure, the rear LCD and EVF have been improved in later models, and additional AF points and faster processing may be nice for some, but I was altogether satisfied with the performance.

I loved leaving the camera to select the AF point (and subject’s face), and track it across the screen automatically. In this way, I was able to keep up with my fast moving kids simply by keeping them inside the camera’s viewfinder frame – a huge time (and sanity!) saver.

Image quality was great, although I must say, not quite on par with the Fujifilm X cameras I’ve used in the past. However, the Fujis are usually much more expensive, so this is completely justified.

Overall, I found the Sony a6000 a fun and rewarding camera to shoot with.

At under $500, it really is unbeatable, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to both beginners and more advanced photographers looking for an affordable compact camera with great performance.

shk-fs-table__imageRecommended BundleGet the best value Sony a6000 bundle at AmazonGet Discount

Disclaimer: All recommendations are impartial and based on user experience, with no bias to the products or the brand. The products in this post may contain affiliate links.

Mark Condon is a British wedding photographer based in Australia and the founder of Shotkit.

Build Quality8
Size/Weight10
Image Quality8
Autofocus9
ISO Performance8
Value10

117 Comments

  1. Jordan on March 30, 2020 at 4:53 pm

    Sony is great with their hardware, but something I’ve noticed since buying the camera is that Sony cannot write software to save their lives. I have to download a handful of different apps to get the camera up and running, then when I want to add applications to expand the features, I have to download another application that doesn’t work. So now I have been hamstringed in the capabilities of the camera. So, for basic photography, yes this is an excellent device. But for usability when it comes to getting something as simple as a time lapse app and remote control? Terrible.

    • Mark Condon on April 1, 2020 at 4:29 am

      I assume you’re refering to the Play Memories app, Jordan? I’ve heard it’s a little clunky…

  2. Ivan on March 19, 2020 at 12:51 pm

    Hi Mark,

    Thank you for your thorough review on the camera that I’m actively pondering on buying.
    What camera/lens setup did you use to shoot the top 3 pics on this page, the ones with the camera and/or lenses sitting on a wooden log? Were these shot with an a6000? The reason I’m asking is because I’m chasing a camera which could produce such a quality and sells hopefully in the affordable price range. Regards from Chicago.

    • Mark Condon on March 20, 2020 at 9:43 am

      Hi Ivan, I used a Nikon D750 with a 35mm f/1.4 lens. I’m confident you can get similar image quality with the a6000, but perhaps not the same shallow depth of field at this focal length, since the a6000 is a crop sensor (APS-C) camera, and such a 35mm equivalent lens does not exist. Hope that helps!

  3. Peter L on February 11, 2020 at 7:01 pm

    Hi Mark, impressive in depth review of the A6000.
    I recently purchased one and am very happy with it. Lightning fast and produces great photos.
    I also purchased the Meike 6.mm F/2.0 lens for it to shoot interior virtual tours with the camera.
    As of now I am yet to find the sweet spot for the lens in terms of aperture and focus combo since it’s a full manual lens.
    If there is any info on the Meike lens I’d very much appreciate it.

    • Mark Condon on February 13, 2020 at 5:35 am

      Hey Peter – thanks. I haven’t used the Meike 6mm I’m afraid – will see if I can get hold of one this year.

  4. Paul Stewart on February 8, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    I am interested in getting a Sony A600 after reading many posts on DP Review’s “adapted lens forum” talk about using old manual focus lenses with an adapter and Sony’s focus peaking giving ecellent results. You have not covered this subject, why not?
    Regards Paul Stewart (ex Manly 2095 resident)

    • Mark Condon on February 9, 2020 at 4:04 pm

      Hey Paul, adapting lenses and taking advantage of focus peaking is possible on most mirrorless cameras – it’s not specific to the a6000. It’s also rather niche usage case, hence me not talking about it yet on Shotkit. “Manly 2095 resident” – were we neighbours?!

    • Paul Stewart on February 11, 2020 at 7:41 pm

      It was many years ago, 70s/80s. A regular at the Steyne Hotel and The New Brighton.

  5. Anand on February 3, 2020 at 8:13 pm

    I’m planning to buy a6000. I’m beginner to photography world and my primary usage will be to shoot family and travel photos. Also some DIY craft videos for YouTube. I use my mobile so far.
    Could you recommend is it worth to buy sony a6000 or canon 250d for my requirement.
    Thank you

    • Mark Condon on February 4, 2020 at 7:54 pm

      You’ll probably guessed it, but I’d go for the a6000!

    • Charles on February 22, 2020 at 9:14 am

      Don’t do it. I learned my photography on an a6000, and now I’ve dumped 8k into the hobby. In dealing with second-hand equipment buyers and sellers, many have walked the exact path I did, starting with their respective a6000s. The a6000 is a blackhole. It will drain you financially. You will fall in love and become addicted.

  6. Claude B. on January 29, 2020 at 7:32 am

    More interesting from Sony is the A6000 is not mention!
    “” Sony rarely discontinue cameras but when the A6600 and 6100 were announced they discontinued production of the A6300 and A6500.” (Mark Galer specialist in Sony products, mention it on YouTube.)

    • Mark Condon on February 5, 2020 at 1:24 pm

      Not sure I understand your comment, Claude – are you asking if the a6000 is still in production?

  7. Mako on January 10, 2020 at 2:23 am

    I’m going to buy a6000 from my friend, only cost P14, 000. Thanks for the info.

    From Philippines

    • Mark on January 11, 2020 at 8:00 am

      Great to hear it, Mako!

  8. Joe on December 31, 2019 at 12:55 am

    Thank you for this update on the a6000. I’ve had mine since 2015. Added a few more lenses: Sigma 30mm f/2.8, Sigma 16mm f/1.4, and Sony 55-210mm. I’ve really enjoyed this camera. Lately, I’ve considered upgrading to the A6400 or the Nikon Z50, but for the features and capabilities needed for my purposes (family, friends, backyard wildlife, and the occasional dance recital/showcase), the a6000 gets the job done easily with good results. Your review gave me pause to reflect more deeply on the value and performance of my camera, saving me from a $900 upgrade, and inspiring me to increase my capacity as a photographer through better technique with the good gear already at hand. Again, thank you, and best wishes for continued success in 2020.

    • Mark Condon on December 31, 2019 at 5:08 am

      Thanks Joe, I really appreciate that! Yes, no need to upgrade simply because there are newer cameras. Have a great 2020 :-)

  9. Thierry Graphie on December 26, 2019 at 6:44 am

    I already own an A6300 and I bought the anthracite A6000 body and which benefited from a complete firmware in 2019, at a price of 380 €. I have a lot of fun using it, more than my A6300. Now the 16-50 EP-Z lens benefits from very good quality despite its price and its limits. I use it for urban photos.

  10. Linz on December 1, 2019 at 4:52 am

    Hi Mark – This review is so helpful! I’m new to photography and just bought the a6000. I’m now trying to figure out lenses. I’m traveling to the Galapagos where I’ll want to shoot landscape + animals + the night sky (all the stars) and then to the Patagonia region where I’ll be backpacking and will want to shoot landscapes (the mountains and glaciers). I’ll want to keep things light, especially for the backpacking part. Are there two lenses you’d recommend? I was debating about bringing the 55-210 mm and then either the Sony 20 mm f/2.8 or the Rokinon 12 mm f/2.0. Would you recommend one over the other? (Or a different third option?) Also, are there any videos or trainings you’d recommend for getting up to speed on the camera? Any suggestions for setting up the custom menu? Thank you in advance!

    • Mark Condon on December 2, 2019 at 10:19 am

      Hi Linz! I don’t know of any specific training for that camera that I’d recommend, but for cameras and photography in general, our own Photo All Star course is popular, and the instructor mentions the Sony a6xxx bodies in there. For your backpacking trip (jealous!!), it sounds like you’d do well with one med/long zoom and one wide – the 55-210 and the 20 f/2.8 you mentioned are great. The Rokinon is excellent too, but manual focus, so perhaps not as useful for traveling where AF would help with moving subjects too. I’m assuming you already read this? https://shotkit.com/sony-a6000-lenses/

  11. Anthony on November 29, 2019 at 12:07 am

    Hi Mark,

    Awesome review thank you.
    Looking to start photography and your review clearly confirms my choice on the a6000 considering the low entry point. Will do a mix of landcapes, portraits and sports shots. There is currently a great bundle where I live with the 16-50mm lense.
    What other lense would you get considering what I am planning to shoot?

    Thanks a lot.
    Anthony

    • Mark Condon on November 29, 2019 at 2:50 pm

      Thanks Anthony! Did you already read this article? https://shotkit.com/sony-a6000-lenses/

      • Anthony on November 29, 2019 at 11:43 pm

        Hello, thanks for quick reply. Clearly interested in the Sigma for portrait. I take it the 16-50 that comes with the camera is a good all rounder? Being a complete ignorant here, I believe I would also need something in the 18-200 or 55-200 for the sports shots? Or am I completely in the wrong here :D?

        Thanks a lot for your help. I really liked how you approached the review on the a6000, just ordered it this morning. I could have spent more cash in another model but clearly I feel it will be plenty enough for the money to start with.

        Cheers.

        • Mark Condon on December 7, 2019 at 3:36 pm

          Hey Anthony, how are you going with the kit lens? It’s been a few days since you left your comment, so I wanted to hear if you felt limited with the lenses you currently own, and advise from there. Don’t worry about being ‘ignorant’ – we’re all learning in some way ;-)

  12. JustKoch on November 22, 2019 at 3:30 pm

    Thanks for sharing – I had been shooting a Canon 70D and we travelled quite a bit last summer and carrying that all over place with 2 lenses was a pain. So started exploring other cameras and came across this site and great prices. Doesn’t break the bank. One thing I do like to do is sports photography and video – how would this fare if you may or may not know? Thanks – gonna be looking at some a6000 this weekend!

    • Mark Condon on November 22, 2019 at 4:01 pm

      Hey Billy, there are definitely better cameras for sports and video, but none that are this great value for money. Keep an eye out for the Black Friday sales too ;-)

  13. Ed on November 17, 2019 at 2:19 pm

    Hello Mark,

    Your review is awesome! I am considering to buy the a6000. However, could you tell us which lenses have you been using while shooting with Chris Bukard in San Luis Obispo? I know you guys had the 70-200mm f4 while in the pier but what about when you guys went up the hill, or night walking?

    Could you also tell us which water housing case and lens Chris used while in the water?

    Thank you very much and thanks for all this work behind the lens!!

    • Mark Condon on November 18, 2019 at 4:39 am

      Thanks for the kind words, I’ve never shot with Chris Bukard before, but if you do a search for his name on Shotkit, you can see his feature and see the gear he uses ;-)

    • Darren on December 9, 2019 at 12:52 pm

      Hi Mark! Love your review, it is good advice for a amateur photographer. My wife and I have been looking for a camera to photograph our daughter’s sports events (volleyball and basketball), that won’t break our wallet. The a6000 looks like a great camera to suit our needs, but we would like your advice on a suitable lense to capture her moves from the stands. Thank you!

      • Mark Condon on December 11, 2019 at 6:05 am

        Hey Darren, thanks for the kind words. It sounds like you’ll need a zoom lens for your daughter’s sports events. Take a look at my ‘est Sony a6000 lenses’ article – you should be able to google it ;-) All the best!

  14. Peter Wyeth on November 9, 2019 at 4:24 am

    Hi Mark – Great review, so sensible. I am doing a project photographing the modernist ironwork doors to apartment blocks in a European city and the 6000 sounds ideal – would the 28-70 be the best lens – or would I need a ‘rising front’ lens to keep the verticals parallel? (I would use a tripod and remote for sharpness). Regards

    • Mark Condon on November 9, 2019 at 6:58 am

      Hey Peter, thanks! The 28-70 would be fine, but strictly speaking you’d need a ’tilt-shift’ lens if you want to keep vertical parallel. Sony doesn’t have any native TS lenses – using an adapter and a Canon or Nikon TS lens is a possibility, but could become expensive quickly. I’d recommend using your current lens and adjusting in Lightroom or similar editing software (this is a good one, currently on sale) – it’s very simple to do. Just make sure you leave enough gap on either side of the building, as when fixing in post, the photo will be cropped. Good luck!

      • Peter Wyeth on November 10, 2019 at 6:04 pm

        Thank you Mark!

  15. Sachin Syam on October 31, 2019 at 9:20 am

    That’s a well written review sir. I’ve been a beginner photographer for so long and always wanted a good camera. Today I bought an A6000 with 2 kit lenses for $560. It’s such a sweet deal.

    • Mark Condon on October 31, 2019 at 12:59 pm

      That’s a great deal, Sachin! Good luck with your new camera :-)

  16. Hui Ching on October 29, 2019 at 3:13 pm

    Hi Mark,

    How about a6000 vs a6400? Is it worth if I upgrade my a6000 to a6400. By the way, I don’t take video but I think a6400 have an incredible AF. That is why I think it is worth.

    Could you give your suggestion? Thank you!

    • Mark Condon on October 29, 2019 at 8:39 pm

      It’s definitely a nice upgrade, Hui! The a6400 is great value, especially when compared to the newer a6100 and a6600 too.

  17. Rich Huff on October 29, 2019 at 10:30 am

    I was reading about the new firmware updates for this camera.
    If you buy an a6000 today, does it come with the latest versions of firmware and/or any other “patches’ or improvements over the originally released product?

  18. Brian C. on October 4, 2019 at 7:00 am

    Thank you for this thorough review, Mark! I came upon your page as I, like quite a few here it seems, am just getting into photography and was doing some research on the best place to get started without breaking the bank. I saw the a7ii for ~$800USD online and thought that was a deal until I came across this post! I’m sold on the a6000 – pun intended.

    I travel pretty extensively and like to keep my pack light. Most of my travel involves hikes; the outdoors in both day and night, and all the various settings that come with being in mother nature. I’m open to spending more on a lens than the camera if it’s not like 3x the price of the camera: is there one in particular you’d recommend for a beginner who wants to take photos in these settings (and not carry multiple lenses)?

    Thank you!

    • Mark Condon on October 4, 2019 at 11:41 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed the review, Brian, and happy it saved you a bit of money… which is now no doubt useful for that lens! Here’s the one I’d recommend as a flexible, all-round zoom, and this one too if you want something lightweight as an ‘everyday carry-around’. Hope that helps!

  19. Peter Gulyas on August 30, 2019 at 10:21 pm

    Hi Mark, brilliant review, super useful, thank you! I am currently switching from Canon 700D to Sony a6000 with 18-105 G lens… I believe it will be a big upgrade, but would appreciate your thoughts as well, especially on the 18-105 lens. Thank you again!

  20. Steve Baxter on August 30, 2019 at 2:24 am

    I recently retired and wanted to buy a DSLR but was advised by a photographer to check mirrorless cameras . He is a Sony guy and uses an A6500 I looked at the specs and decided on the A6000 and use the extra cash for extra lens capability. Limited cash and limited lens selection required thought, I now have a Sony 55-210mm zoom with TCON 1.7x extension, a Sigma 30mm prime lens ,the kit Sony16-50mm, and a 16mm and 10mm Meike lens extender for macro shots all of which work fantastic. I am not a experienced photographer by any means but this camera and lenses suit me perfectly. I have friends with DSLRs and a friend with a A6300 and my pics are just as good as anything of theirs at considerably less cost. My 6 month old A6000 was recently stolen from my car, I checked my options and went and bought a new A6000 (best bang for the buck) Thanks for the great review to reaffirm my initial choice.

    • Mark Condon on August 31, 2019 at 6:08 pm

      Glad you’re enjoying your camera, Steve. I think you made a wise choice to save some money from the cheaper body and using it on lenses ;-)

      • Claude B. on January 6, 2020 at 9:11 am

        I agree! High quality lenses are worth!

  21. Maria on August 15, 2019 at 1:13 am

    Hi! Great review. I’m actually leaning more toward the a6500 simply because of the in-body stabilization vs. lens stabilization. What are your thoughts on that? Also, does each mirrorless Sony camera have its own range of lenses or can any E-Mount lens go on any E-Mount camera? Thank you!

    • Mark Condon on August 15, 2019 at 9:33 am

      As long as the camera has stabilization in one way or another, it’s a good thing! Helps to keep the ISO nice and low, since you can compensate with a slower shutter speed. Any Sony E-mount lens can go on any e-mount camera. Hope that helps!

  22. siu on August 1, 2019 at 4:51 pm

    Thanks for your article!!! I am considering between a5100 and a6000, can you give me some advice?

    • Mark Condon on August 3, 2019 at 6:50 am

      Usually I’d always recommend the newer model of a camera, but the omission of the viewfinder on the a5100, as well as the slower frame rate (5fps vs 11fps), leads me to recommend the a6000 to you, Siu ;-)

  23. Jay on July 26, 2019 at 2:39 am

    I was about to buy the Sony a6300 when Sony released a6400. I thought the price will drop now. Then Sony did a strange thing. They increased the price of a6300 may be to sell the a6400 more. There is about $15 price difference between these two cameras. Then I compared all a6x00 line cameras and found the a6000 as the best camera suitable for me. I don’t have a 4k video editing setup, neither I do vlogs. So the older a6000 is better for me. I just want to know if the a6000 supports S-log or not. If yes, I will definitely buy the a6000 instead of other newer ones.

  24. Alpha_Nex_owner on July 16, 2019 at 7:52 pm

    Great review, with some very useful observations. But have to respectfully disagree re the start up time, A6000 usually one to two seconds before it can take a shot, considerably slower than DSLR’s.

    Another issue with it is you can’t configure a button to switch between the evf and rear screen, its either automatic ( which can be a pain – e.g. it wont auto power off if over your shoulder as keeps detecting movement near the viewfinder, so have to keep using the power switch, or if you want to hold it near to your body and use the rear screen to compose (like a waist level finder) it keep switching to viewfinder mode. Only workaround is to go into the menu and select either evf or rear screen that way.

    Apart from these small points its still a great camera.

    • Mark Condon on July 18, 2019 at 6:38 am

      Thanks for the feedback! Hopefully the second point will be fixed one day with a firmware update – we live in hope!!

  25. jazzi on June 1, 2019 at 1:37 am

    Good info, it’s actually the 5th anniversary! That shows you how groundbreaking it was in 2014, they’re still selling boatloads of them. I sold my Canon T2i whole kit 8 months before it came out, and waited patiently. And sure enough it was a total game changer with the AF and EVF live view, video, etc, compared to the crappy canon AF and mirror system. I took thousands of action shots. For those who want to do long zoom action sports /bird photos, you should know that the 55-210mm is excellent optically given it’s almost free in a bundle. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Is it as good as a canon L zoom? Of course not, it’s also 5X cheaper when you buy it bundled with the cam. I’ve looked at my pics at 100%, and the sharpness at close to full zoom is unbelievable, especially at F8-10, and that’s through the olympus glass on the end.

    With the current price, you can get a new body, 16-50mm kit and 55210 zoom and a used 1.7x tcon with adapter rinds for probably 600 USD. Or skip the kit and add a used sigma art 35mm for 100, or sony 50mm 1.8 for 150 and you’re set.

    With my setup I can zoom into soccer players at the other end of a field and get close to full body shots with eq. 535mm zoom, by adding a used Olympus tcon 1.7x glass at the end of the zoom lens. This is a much better alternative than getting a back mounted teleconverter. First, it doesn’t alter light input or aperture. It’s a bit more cumbersome, but my sony zoom has held up well despite the extra 1/2 pound hanging off the plastic barrel of the zoom. I have also mounted the Tcon to the sony 1.8 mm 50 and I have a 1600 or even 3200 iso solution for indoor gym fast action shots at F2 at about 140mm eq (basketball).

    It would be very interesting to know what updates Sony have done to the 6000, to the internals over the years. Tech parts get cheaper over time, so the parts costs much less to make today than in 2014. Sadly, my shutter just died at 30K pictures, so I’m pretty disappointed. Going to try the disassembly, and shutter motor replacement if i cant solve it. I’ve been thinking about upgrading to the 6400, but the price difference is ridiculous in my view (close to 3x the price to add 4k and marginally better AF, but great video features). I only paid 700 USD in 2014 for my 3 piece kit, not a whole lot more than current, but they’re really gouging on the 63/4/500 , even if the specs are more robust. The 6400 doesn’t have IBIS, and i’m looking at close to 1400 CAD with tax just for the body. I guess they figure semi pro and pros will buy it. If my a6000 hadn’t failed, I wouldn’t even be looking.

    If you are buying a new a6000, a 5 year extended warranty might be available for 100 at best buy. Probably worth it, because the shutter is going to fail at some point, could be 20K or 80K. I treated this cam like a baby, so not too happy, and repair at sony is same price as a new body. They have an upgraded shutter in the 6400 to 200K shots.

    • Mark Condon on June 1, 2019 at 6:48 am

      I might need to turn your comment into a separate bog post, Jazzi!!

  26. Courtney on May 28, 2019 at 5:06 am

    Thank you! Amazing and thorough review. I’m also impressed at how many individual recommendations you provided!

    • Mark Condon on May 28, 2019 at 5:29 am

      Thanks Courtney! I try my best to keep up with all the comments, but they come thick and fast!! :p

  27. Jan Jan on May 17, 2019 at 5:24 am

    THX for your review :)sweet
    I was looking for a small good camera to do some products shoots , IG pics .. but i am not so good in using camera too(auto mode is my best friend :p)(..iphone helps me a lots too) ..
    but there are different between A6000,A6300 and A6500 ? (price def)

    also about the indoor ,night shooting mode on A6000….how was it ?
    pls little . help :)thanks millions

    • Mark Condon on May 17, 2019 at 6:33 am

      …and the a6400 too now, Jan! The low light of the a6000 series is good, as long as you keep it to around ISO1600 or under. Over that things tend to get a little noisy, but some people like to do a black and white edit and embrace the grittiness! `

  28. Jaclynn on May 1, 2019 at 11:12 pm

    Yes! I have been shooting with this since it came out in 2014. I have tossed around the idea of “upgrading cameras” but I am so happy with this thing. I recently ordered new batteries after 5 years. I am at shoots constantly and some photographers look at my camera like it is a toy and kind of scoff. Then I laugh when I see their images compared to mine. Bigger isn’t better. In fact, the reason i initially bought this model is because I didn’t want to be hauling heavy equipment. I liked the fact that it was lightweight and not the size of a newborn child!!!

    • Mark Condon on May 2, 2019 at 6:24 am

      haha definitely not that big! And yes, I agree that there’s no need to upgrade your camera if it’s performing for you, despite the age. Happy shooting :-)

      • Robb Kinney on June 29, 2019 at 1:51 pm

        Looking seriously to purchasing a a6000. Have read your recommendation to lenses. You did not mention the Sony Vario-Tessar E 16-70. I wondered about this as a single primary then maybe only a wide angle addition. What do you think.

        • Mark Condon on June 30, 2019 at 8:17 am

          It’s a good lens, Robb. A bit pricey, but if you have the budget, I recommend it!

        • Amanda on July 28, 2019 at 10:12 am

          I have this lens for my a6000. It is my favorite lens. If I am going somewhere and can only bring one lens with me it is nearly always the lens I use.

  29. BAzz on May 1, 2019 at 6:29 pm

    What a great review! The A6000 got me back into photography after a 30-year layoff. Even though I now use an A7R3 I still love the A6000. I carry it everywhere and I can use all my full-frame glass on it too!
    This is another major advantage – If you buy full-frame glass for it, you don’t need to change if you get a later model.

    The incremental changes in the A6300 and A6500 are ‘nice to have’ but by no means necessary.

    • Mark Condon on May 2, 2019 at 6:28 am

      Thanks Bazz! So glad to hear the a6000 was responsible for getting you back into the game after 30 years!! All the best :-)

  30. Claude B. on May 1, 2019 at 3:26 pm

    Now about the A6000 vs A6400!

    I’ll keep my A6000 because It suit my need very well.
    I don’t do video so, the A6400 is very nice for video. Why? They have the 4K, fast eyes focus and soon animal eye focus.
    With the A6000 My lenses* fit on A6300, A6400, A6500.
    Sony 16-50mm, Sigma 19mm, Sigma30mm f1.4, Sigma 60mm and now the great powerful little zoom the Sony 18-135mm. I love them and nobody will see the difference in pictures quality with the A6xxx series.
    Mainly lenses are important and the person behind the camera! :)

  31. Hashan on April 25, 2019 at 2:12 am

    Yes Sony A 6000 is the Best Camera with the Basic Lense. I bought New One Last month. I Did few Videos with Low Light. I m Very Satisfied with The camera. This s my first video from that camera . Check this out & Recommended to all.
    https://youtu.be/nhheVe4qwWo

    • Mark Condon on April 25, 2019 at 5:49 am

      Thanks for sharing, Hashan – nice guitar playing ;-)

  32. Stuart Whitman on March 6, 2019 at 10:02 am

    I’ve had a Sony A6000 as my first camera for 18 months now and this review sums it up perfectly. I’ve learnt so much during that time and whilst it’s not perfect once you practice using the cameras numerous settings you can unravel it capabilities. I use it mainly for sports photography at regional athletics events paired with a Sony 85mm f/1.8 FE (giving me a mid range zoom – approx 130mm) and once you get to understand the focus modes and custom settings you can get great images. I only have the original battery but can take 2500 images over 4 hours without any problem and it’s so easy to hold and carry. I’ve had numerous people ask what camera I use and most are amazed when I show them.

    The only cons I’ve found – doesn’t like rain. To be fair it’s not weather sealed (what do you expect for £350) so I just put a plastic bag round it. If I hold the camera in portrait mode with the grip at the top it will freeze after about 10 seconds.

    Highly recommended, great camera.

    • Mark Condon on March 7, 2019 at 12:49 pm

      Thanks for the feedback Stuart! I like your plastic bag solution – I’ve been known to do something similar with a zip-lock bag in the past too! I’m also impressed with your battery life, despite using it for 18 months – that’s a great duration you get out of it! Cheers

  33. Alex Hagen on January 6, 2019 at 2:13 pm

    Would you recommend the Sony A6000 or the Fujifilm XT-100?

    • Mark Condon on January 8, 2019 at 9:10 am

      Good question! They’re both great cameras. The XT-100 is newer, has slightly better IQ (and those gorgeous Fuji colours), has a great flipscreen/touchscreen, and looks awesome too. However, and this is a big one, the Sony has much better AF. It’s also cheaper too. Let us know which one you end up going with Alex, and your thoughts on it!

    • Mark Condon on January 10, 2019 at 6:40 am

      Good question, Alex! The XT-100 is the newer, flashier option so it’s definitely tempting. It has that front facing flip screen which is essential if you’re a vlogger, slightly better image quality, nice colours (the Fuji JPG colours are second to none), a great lens selection, and good-looking retro styling. However, the a6000 has it been with its AF, especially for moving subjects. It’s also cheaper! Let us know which one you end up going for ;-)

  34. Matt on December 25, 2018 at 6:09 am

    Thank you for the review, I am new to the photo world and it was very helpful to hear a professional level opinion. I think hi level photography is less of a hobby than it used to be due to the phones we all carry being fairly good at taking photos. Articles like yours will keep the future bright for the industry. I purchased an a6000 from a local dealer shortly after reading your article and the owner of the shop asked me to write this to thank you for your work. I agree with him, a sincere thank you for your effort and time.

    • Mark Condon on December 26, 2018 at 5:29 am

      Oh wow, thanks Matt! Very kind of the shop owner to say that too :-)

  35. Ivan Maesstro on December 22, 2018 at 8:13 am

    I’m using professionally Sony A6000 and i tryed many lenses: 16-50, 18-55, 16, 55-210, 35, 50… Now i’m working models with Samyang 85mm f1.8, weddings and concerts with Sony 18-105 and landscapes with Canon 10-18 and Commlite adapter. Almost 3 years now and no way that i will change the body (i have NEX-6 and NEX-5T as a backup). FF body is like 500% more expensive and gives about 10% better image quality. So no wonder that this incredible A6000 camera is most popular mirrorless of all times. Greetings from Norway

    • Mark Condon on December 24, 2018 at 6:35 am

      Thanks for the insight from Norway, Ivan! The 10% you talk of is kinda true, but in very low light, it’s more like 100% better ;-)

  36. hajee on December 19, 2018 at 8:25 pm

    Hi Dear, i am planning to buy sony a6000 is this right time to but it. or else suggest me the best.

    • Mark Condon on December 20, 2018 at 1:13 pm

      Now’s as good a time as any, Hajee ;-)

  37. Nirmal Kumar on December 13, 2018 at 12:51 am

    I recently moved to Sony A6000 from Canon 70D, a little hesitantly. Now I am happy shooting with Sony A6000. Your recommendation is just the icing on the cake.Nice to know from you too that I made the right move

    • Mark Condon on December 14, 2018 at 3:07 pm

      Yep, definitely an increase in performance there, Nirmal. Happy shooting!

  38. Angela on December 12, 2018 at 3:11 pm

    Thank you so so much for this incredible review. You’ve really helped me alot and I appreciate it more than you know! Keep up the amazing work

    • Mark Condon on December 14, 2018 at 3:19 pm

      Ah that’s great to hear Angela! Thanks for the lovely comment :D

  39. taxineil on November 29, 2018 at 5:58 am

    My A6000 goes out with me all day every day,had it about 3 years now and its still on sale in Currys with£50 cashback!

  40. Tiffany on November 3, 2018 at 7:19 pm

    Hi there! Your article is really helpful, thank you :) I’m planning to get this camera as an upgrade from my canon G12. It’s very old now and I don’t have any experience with other cameras. I’m interested in taking pictures of wildlife especially whales (in a distance and maybe close to the boat, possibly under low light conditions), landscapes and northern lights. Are there any affordable lenses you could recommend? Thank you :)

    • Mark on November 4, 2018 at 6:36 am

      That’s great Tiffany – glad it helps! Re. lenses, here you go ;-)

  41. Seye Oderinde on October 25, 2018 at 9:27 am

    Does it make sense to rather invest in FE lens so that it will be more easier to upgrade in future?

    • Mark on October 26, 2018 at 9:17 am

      If that’s your definite upgrade path, then yes it can make sense Seye. You have to consider the increased weight and size (as well as the price of course) or the FE lenses too though.

  42. hlamyint 743@gmail.com on September 12, 2018 at 11:41 pm

    Now, i am using A6000 with two lend as one of kit and 55-210. I wanna buy 50 mm only for portrait.
    Thanks.

  43. Jim on August 19, 2018 at 2:56 am

    Great review thanks. Looking to upgrade my ageing NEX 7…

    • Mark on August 19, 2018 at 9:49 am

      Glad you liked it Jim! That’d be a fine upgrade…

  44. CiCi on June 23, 2018 at 3:33 am

    Thank you so much for this article! I’m currently shopping for a mirrorless camera and was trying to decide among the 3 listed. This was a solid explanation. Thanks again!

    • Mark on June 25, 2018 at 11:51 am

      Glad you found it useful, CiCi!

  45. Eva on June 6, 2018 at 7:15 pm

    Great detailed review! I love my A6000 in terms of quality and its size, I bought it when it was first launched. I am thinking about upgrade to A6500, I take still pictures most of the time. Is it worth to upgrade to A6500? (I mean will there be big different in picture quality.)

    • Mark on June 7, 2018 at 4:23 am

      Glad you like it, Eva. I don’t think there’d be a big difference in image quality Eva to be honest. Depending on your budget, I’d get this https://amzn.to/2HpWFEfSony a7 with 28-70mm – you’ll notice a huge jump in image quality, especially in low light. Hope that helps!

      • Eva on June 7, 2018 at 12:44 pm

        Thx Mark! Will check it.

      • Brenda Erickson on August 18, 2018 at 6:28 am

        I tried the Sony A7 and as I like to take photos of nature, birds, squirrels etc I found it incredibly noisy. Almost like a machine gun going off on the continuous shots, I took it back only because of that after finding there was no way to turn the sound off the shutter.

        • Mark on August 19, 2018 at 9:51 am

          Yes that’s a shame Brenda. Several of the Sony full frame and crop sensor cameras offer silent shooting, but unfortunately not the a7 or the a6000 for that matter.

  46. Claude B. on February 27, 2018 at 5:40 am

    Rarely we see a so well done review (on any camera compagny) on a camera of few years old camera model and very positive!
    Thanks! It make us proud to still hold the Sony A6000.

    • Mark on March 4, 2018 at 9:46 am

      Glad to hear it, Claude! Bringing some love back to the a6000 :-)

  47. Nate on February 12, 2018 at 8:40 pm

    Loved this review, thank you! Just purchased this camera second hand, even more excited to receive it now!

    • Greg on June 25, 2018 at 6:25 am

      Nate, you’re going to love it. I also got mine used, with kit lens. My image quality improved tremendously once I invested in Sony 35mm 1.8 (used at Best Buy) & Sigma 60mm 2.8 for portraits; OMG my image quality is off the charts! Glad I chose A6000… (No website, jtxvisuals on Instagram if you want to see some of my portrait shots)

  48. Kerilou on February 12, 2018 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks Mark for another very informative article. This one is on my short list if I decide to change brands. mainly because a friend who bought this camera takes amazing, crystal clear bird photos. And it certainly is very affordable! Cheers

    • Lars Ekelund on December 4, 2018 at 9:22 pm

      Can you please tell me which lense would take clear bird photos.

      • Mark Condon on December 5, 2018 at 3:30 pm

        Something with a decent focal length for bird photography would be this one, Lars.

        • Audrey Sim on July 7, 2019 at 11:37 am

          Dear Mark, Thank you for this article! I have been searching for a new camera to take on safari and have seen this camera come up in my searches. Your research has sealed the deal. The a600 is for me! I have thoroughly enjoyed my Sony rx100 and this will be a nice upgrade for me. Thanks again!

          • Mark Condon on July 7, 2019 at 12:41 pm

            No problem at all, Audrey – glad I could be of help. The a6000 will be a nice upgrade from your rx100, and open up the door to all those alluring Sony lenses ;-)



          • Audrey on July 8, 2019 at 3:37 am

            Dear Mark, I am looking at lens now and there are so many choices! Would you please recommend one? I read your article on lenses but I am still not sure which would be best for this trip. I am researching specifically which would be best for game shots from the jeep. I have been looking at the 18-200 and the 55-210. (My brother also gave me a Nikon 18-200 but my concern is will they talk to each other so I can take advantage of the Sony’s AF?) My husband who has been on safari before says that game might walk right by us as well as be off in the distance so I don’t know which to choose to get a good combo of focal length and quality. For this purpose price is not a concern since I could rent one if it is out of my budget. Thank you! Best wishes, Audrey



          • Mark Condon on July 8, 2019 at 8:25 pm

            Hey Audrey, if you are renting and money is no object, I’d get a 400mm Sony lens (they’re enormous, but incredible), and a 16-35mm f/2.8 just in case the wildlife come close.



          • Audrey Sim on July 9, 2019 at 1:46 am

            Thank you!!

            Cheers, Audrey



      • jazzi on June 1, 2019 at 1:41 am

        You’ll need the excellent sony sel 55210. You can then multiply the focal length by 1.7x (olymous or sony used+ adapter ring that screws on the end of the sony zoom) by adding a teleconverter on the end (not at the base – those are expensive and suck up light), to get 535mm eq zoom with outstanding image quality.

        • Audrey Sim on July 7, 2019 at 11:35 am

          Dear Jazzi, Can you give the name and model for this teleconverter and adapter ring? Thank you!

Leave a Comment